The Rosebud Indian Reservation (RIR) is an Indian Reservation in South Dakota, United States. It is the home of the federally recognized Sičáŋǧu Oyáte (the Upper Brule Sioux Nation) - also known as Sičáŋǧu Lakota, and the Rosebud Sioux Tribe, a branch of the Lakota people. The Lakota name, Sičáŋǧu Oyáte, translates into English as "Burnt Thigh Nation"; the French term Brule Sioux is also used. 
  The Rosebud Indian Reservation was est. in 1889 after the United States' partition of the Great Sioux Reservation. Created in 1868 by the Treaty of Fort Laramie, the Great Sioux Reservation originally covered all of West River, South Dakota, as well as part of northern Nebraska and eastern Montana.

ANNOUNCEMENTS: For Tribal Employees on the mobile version: clicking on the mobile menu at the top of the screen will direct you to the Tribal Directory, Program Website Links, and Quick Links. (01/13/2020)

© 2020 Rosebud Sioux Tribe

  • Facebook