Click Picture

The Government of the Rosebud Sioux Tribe is comprised of one legislative body, the Rosebud Sioux Tribal Council, currently made up of 24 elected positions, four officers (President, Vice-President, Secretary and Treasurer) and 20 council representatives. The four officers are elected at-large by enrolled tribal members living on the reservation in staggered terms; President and Vice-President elected for a term of three years and the Secretary and Treasurer elected for a term of two years. One Council Representative is elected, at-large, for terms of three years to represent one of the 20 communities of the Rosebud Sioux Tribe. The communities recognized in the Tribal Constitution are: Antelope, Black Pipe, Bull Creek, Butte Creek, Corn Creek, Grass Mountain, He Dog, Horse Creek, Ideal, Milk's Camp, Okreek, Parmelee, Ring Thunder, Rosebud, St. Francis, Soldier Creek, Spring Creek, Swift Bear, Two Strike and Upper Cut Meat.


The RST Council is empowered by the Constitution to, among other powers:

  1. Negotiate with Federal, state and local authorities on matters concerning the Tribe.

  2. Acquire land and property for use by the Tribe.

  3. Advise the United States Secretary of the Interior on Congressional matters and budgets affecting the Tribe.

  4. Levy taxes and conduct trade.

  5. Pass and enforce laws for public safety.

  6. Foster cultural celebration and preservation of the Sicangu Lakota Oyate.

© 2020 Rosebud Sioux Tribe

  • Facebook